Praying in Tongues: What is the Big Deal?

Paul Shomer Ademujimi
3 min readFeb 19, 2022

--

Change can be pretty uncomfortable and inconvenient, especially when an individual or group of people have to abandon a way of life they are used to. Because of this inconvenience, someone who has spent decades praying in understanding would be uncomfortable praying in tongues.

I can’t recall precisely when I became so immersed in tongues that I speak it more often than English or any dialect. However, I recall that in my last days in the university, Samuel Adeyanju, Tope Ogunlade, Francis Fidelis, Aluko Tomilola, Damilola Abanikanda, and I would meet weekly at our University Car park and pray in tongues for at least one hour, interceding for people most times. It was my first experience of praying in the Spirit for long hours.

After this experience, I would pray in tongues personally for minutes attempting to hit the one-hour mark daily. Often, I would hit the one-hour mark, and at other times, I would not.

During my voluntary service year, I would pray for hours in tongues, alone. It helped me a lot, and in 2018, I started a group in my local church where we prayed for hours weekly. At this time, I had become the one strengthening other brethren in prayers.

From 2018 till now, I have cast strange spirits and demons out from homes and people, healed people from sicknesses including terminal disease, raised the dead, and drawn hundreds into the marvellous light, restoring broken lives to God.

I grew up in a Christian family and learned to pray in understanding quite early. In my university days, I came into the understanding of praying in tongues. The difference is clear! When I used to pray in understanding, I could not do much for myself, my family, unbelievers, and believers like I do now.

The struggle of praying in words and human understanding is too much to bear. Therefore, many churches pray unscriptural prayers today. Sometimes, people are confused and do not know what to pray about. Many believers rarely what they need per time. As a result, they could pray one or more prayer points for years without results. Some may pray the same prayers till they die, and people will say he/she suffered till he/she died. Why should you struggle to pray when you can pray in tongues and the Holy Spirit, who understands what you need per time, will read your tongues and provide an answer.

Some people also think they might say gibberish. For this category of people, Paul the Apostle answered in 1 Corinthians 14 that when you pray in tongues, your spirit is praying. When we pray in tongues, we speak mysteries in the Spirit to our God. The Holy Spirit takes it up and provides your need per time.

Also, as Paul said, you can interpret tongues if you allow the Holy Spirit. Yesterday in our @PhotioLive meeting, I could interpret the tongues of one of my sisters as she ministered in the Holy Ghost.

Let the Holy Spirit find expression in you without limit. Choose to pray in tongues. You will do so much for yourself, your family, the church, and the world at large.

Thank you.

--

--

Paul Shomer Ademujimi

Homo Christus | i Teach, Write and Live the Gospel | Children and Teenagers | Founder, Anil Farms | Christ wing | Meno | +2348037714863 (WhatsApp only)